Cashew Chicken Quinoa Casserole

Like most people, my husband and I have New Year’s resolutions to be healthier and make better diet choices (we fell off of the bandwagon hard over the holidays…). We have been working on lower carb options and healthier grains. Enter quinoa, a trendy alternative to rice for many of our recipes. In a recent Pintrest search for new recipes, I came across gem which is quickly becoming a staple in our home. Next time, I may try making my own version of Hoisin sauce to make sure we are limiting our sugar intake. The picture and recipe come from http://fitfoodiefinds.com/2015/08/cashew-chicken-quinoa-bake/#_a5y_p=4232068

Here’s how to do it:

Preheat oven to 375 degF. Grease 9×13 casserole dish with cooking spray of your choice (I used canola oil, the recipe calls for coconut oil). Rinse 1 cup of quinoa (I used white) and spread in bottom of baking dish. Layer 1 cup of minced yellow onion and 2 medium red peppers chopped into bite-sized pieces on top of quinoa. The second time I made this, I combined red, orange, and green peppers and it turned out well too, I did 4 total peppers. Dice 3-4 raw chicken breasts and layer on top of onion and peppers. Then, make sauce by combining 1/2 cup Hoisin sauce, 2 tbsp. soy sauce (I used low sodium), and 1 cup of water. The recipe also called for 1/2 tbsp. of fresh ginger, minced and 1 tbsp. minced garlic to be added to the sauce, I used about 1/2 tsp of ground ginger and a dash of garlic powder instead – you can use more or less depending on your taste. Once sauce is mixed, pour over chicken evenly. I also drizzled a little extra Hoisin sauce alone over the top of the dish. Bake for 45 minutes, uncovered. Then, sprinkle chopped cashews over the top and bake for an additional 10 minutes. You can also garnish with green onion once removed from the oven if desired.

We have made this recipe twice now and have loved it both times!

 

 

Leave a Reply

